jump to navigation

Above LeConte February 5, 2013

Posted by Jenny in nature, Smoky Mountains.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback
Peregrine falcon

Peregrine falcon

In dim swirls of sleep I dreamed I saw the top of Mt. LeConte from high above. In the way that dreams unfold without a pause or question, I knew I was a peregrine. I could hear the air flow evenly beneath my wings as I dipped to circle toward the mountain.

Sharp early-morning sunlight cast sheet-metal shadows.  Every tree-furred valley folded neatly into place. Now I saw the streams that glimmered in the pouring light, the pools and waterfalls. I could see the water glide beneath the branching architecture of the trees.

As I banked and turned at Myrtle Point, I passed the glint of Cannon Creek. I saw its source quite clearly: tiny droplets percolating one by one from damp moss cushions in a balsam’s dark-blue shadow. I counted off LeConte’s twelve streams, turned sharp, and rode the air that flowed across the backs of mountains.

*   *   *

Little Duck Hawk, a nesting place for peregrines on Mt. LeConte

Little Duck Hawk, a nesting place for peregrines on Mt. LeConte

Comments»

1. TWL - February 5, 2013

“Every tree-furred valley folded neatly into place.”

Jenny, I am amazed at the hikes you so succinctly recount. But I am absolutely lift up by your language. Thanks! I needed that!

You are the poet laureate of the Smokey Mountains.

Jenny - February 5, 2013

Glad you enjoyed it!

2. Peter Bennett - February 17, 2013

Beautiful piece from the perspective of a falcon. I have always fantasized about flying like a bird. Wonderful!

Jenny - February 17, 2013

Thank you! By the way, one of the people who “liked” this post has a blog about building model airplanes. I thought of you and your Spad-13s and Fokker-D7s (I think I have those names right…)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers