jump to navigation

You think it’s cold? March 24, 2013

Posted by Jenny in hiking, White Mountains, winter hiking.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback
Summit of Mt. Madison

Summit of Mt. Madison.

I’m sure you feel the same way I do—you’re sick of winter. It’s March 24, I’m in North Carolina, and there’s snow in the forecast the next couple of days. Today a friend and I had planned to go up Bradley Fork looking for the F-15 jet engine. The prospect of a wet chilly day decided us against it. Well, I suppose we have nothing to complain about compared with the folks in the Midwest.

I thought I’d share some old photos of winter hikes. Perhaps by looking at them, you will feel warmer by comparison. All of them were taken in the White Mountains of northern New Hampshire.

Winter hiking can actually be fun. We had a nice sunny day for this climb of Mt. Washington. No wind, and temps were above zero—not something you take for granted there in winter.

Bob climbs the Lions Head Winter Route on Washington.

Bob climbs the Lions Head Winter Route on Washington.

Above Tuckerman Ravine.

Above Tuckerman Ravine.

I make my way up ice near the top of Washington.

I make my way up ice near the top of Washington.

Observation Deck on Washington. Bob is posturing, as usual.

Observation Deck on Washington. Bob is posturing, as usual.

Conditions on a climb we did of Adams were really cold and windy.

I look cold. It was about three degrees and windy.

I look cold. It was about three degrees and windy.

Looking from Adams to Madison.

Looking from Adams to Madison.

We had “snow goblins” along the trail on a climb of Mt. Eisenhower.

Adam hikes along Crawford Path toward Eisenhower.

Adam hikes along Crawford Path toward Eisenhower.

I looked cold on Eisenhower, too.

Adam and I approach Eisenhower summit.

Below Mt. Jefferson.

Below Mt. Jefferson.

Sometimes the trip was long hard work.

I'not sure the summit of Middle Carter was worth the effort.

I’m not sure the summit of Middle Carter was worth the effort.

Bob crosses Lonesome Lake on the way to North Kinsman.

Bob crosses Lonesome Lake on the way to North Kinsman.

Adam tackles upper slopes of Lafayette.

Adam tackles upper slopes of Lafayette.

Bob and Pete on Moriah.

Bob and Pete on Moriah.

Mike and Bob on the Tripyramids.

Mike and Bob on the upper Sabbaday Brook trail, approaching the Tripyramids.

Oh, I forgot. This last one isn’t in the Whites. This is East Kennebago in western Maine—a bushwhack peak. I’m holding a moose horn we found.

Stay warm, and maybe spring will arrive one of these days!

East Kennebago---a canister peak.

East Kennebago—a canister peak.

Comments»

1. Brian - March 24, 2013

This friend must be a wimp or a genius. Today was miserable here.

Jenny - March 24, 2013

The friend is a genius!

2. Al - March 25, 2013

Smart to postpone until weather gets better.I remember a creek crossing up that way too.

3. Gary - March 26, 2013

I feel warmer already .. off to Florida to see kids (they’re coming from Phil. and Boston) and mothers .. it was almost 90 down there last week (one day ) .. a friend there had her air conditioner break in Dec. .. got little sympathy from relatives in upstate New York.

4. Brian R - March 26, 2013

New Englanders really have a different idea about what bad weather is. I did a New Years trip in the Whites. I was thinking what a tough hero I am out here in this harsh Arctic environment. Nobody in Tennessee would be backpacking in these conditions. The cold, the fierce winds. But I kept running into locals who who spoiled things by gushing about how nice and mild the weather was. I remember one couple in ski masks lounging in the snow like they were in the park on a sunny afternoon. “Oh you should try a winter traverse of the Presidentials, you’d love it!” said the woman in the tone of voice I’d use recommend a stroll out to a nice overlook.

Jenny - March 27, 2013

I know that people have died attempting the winter Presi traverse in bad conditions. There was an infamous incident in 1994 when one guy froze to death on Jefferson and his companion staggered into the weather observatory on the summit of Washington, nearly frozen (had a lot of frostbite). They were up there in conditions where it was stupid to try. In conditions of low wind and relatively high temperatures it is doable.

5. Buddy Sanders - March 27, 2013

Jenny,

Could use some help with a project in Cataloochee if you folks are interested.

Jenny - March 27, 2013

Hi Buddy, I am going to email you about that. Thanks for visiting the blog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

