jump to navigation

A tributary of Walker Camp Prong June 19, 2014

Posted by Jenny in bushwhacking, hiking, Smoky Mountains.
Tags:
trackback
Pretty little waterfall on my tributary.

Pretty little waterfall on my tributary.

The tributaries on the north side of Walker Camp Prong get a fair amount of attention because they lead to Anakeesta Ridge. But for a while I’d noticed an odd-looking little tributary on the south side.

My destination today.

My destination today.

The map indicates some very steep terrain on both sides of the stream at elevations between 4600 and 4800′. I was looking for a half-day outing and set out to see what it looked like. As it turned out, the contours are so shrouded in vegetation that it didn’t appear as dramatic as I had expected.

So that left me with the simple but great experience of enjoying a beautiful small stream in the Smokies. I followed it up to the point where the water ran out, and decided to retrace my steps because there was too much vegetation where I couldn’t stay in the streambed—lots of rhodo, lots of nettles.

What follows is a selection of photos from the trip. Like I said, nothing dramatic, just a Smokies stream.

The water reflected the green of the moss.

The water reflected the green of the moss.

P1030167

P1030168

P1030173

P1030178

P1030181

P1030196

The start of the stream is just steps away from car and motorcycle traffic, but you are instantly in a different world. It was a good outing.

The entrance to the stream.

The entrance to the stream.

Comments»

1. Jeff G. - June 19, 2014

Pretty nice, Jenny. Thanks for sharing.

Jenny - June 19, 2014

Glad you liked it!

2. Brian Reed - June 27, 2014

Just another day in the park, huh? I’m amazed at how frequently you get out into the gnarlier bits of the Smokies lately–surely more than anybody else.You must be in unbelievable shape these days.

3. Al - June 30, 2014

…goes to show that just 3 feet of the maintained path can be just as impenetrable as 3 miles.

Jenny - June 30, 2014

Al, if you mean 3 feet of the UNmaintained path, that’s so true! On this hike up the Walker Prong tributary, I got up not too far from the A.T. I had thought of hitting the A.T. and walking a short distance to the next draw and going down that, but when I looked at what I’d have to go through, I decided, no, I’ll just go back the way I came. You probably know better than just about anybody what those places are like.

Al - June 30, 2014

yeah, shud have been off

4. Al - July 1, 2014

I walked up to the AT once using the small stream above the first tunnel. Not as far as the one you were on. Walked back on the AT and the road.


Leave a Reply

