jump to navigation

Sawyer Pond September 30, 2014

Posted by Jenny in grief, hiking, photography, White Mountains.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
Looking across Sawyer Pond.

Looking across Sawyer Pond.

This past weekend I traveled to the White Mountains of New Hampshire for a memorial gathering in honor of my longtime companion Bob Parlee, who died of kidney cancer in March.  Seven of his close friends gathered near the summit of Mt. Washington, at the Great Gulf headwall, to remember Bob.

If you are interested in helping with a donation to the Kidney Cancer Association, please visit the  fundraising page for the Great Gulf Hike for Bob.

I will not post a blog about that experience, but I did want to share photos from a short hike I did the day before. I visited Sawyer Pond, a beautiful pond located in the Sawyer River valley near Mt. Carrigain.

P1030548

P1030552

P1030555

P1030557

P1030563

P1030568

P1030569

Worlds upon worlds.

Worlds upon worlds.

Comments»

1. Kerry - September 30, 2014

Beautiful photos, Jenny! It was so wonderful to see you. xoxo

Jenny - September 30, 2014

Likewise! Big hug!!

2. Kerry - September 30, 2014

A heartfelt thanks to Jenny’s followers for all your support over the last few months.

Jenny - September 30, 2014

I truly cherish the friendships that have come out of people visiting this blog.

3. Al - September 30, 2014

look at that color, beautiful !

Jenny - September 30, 2014

I have to say that New England is the very best when it comes to fall color.

4. Kent Hackendy - September 30, 2014

Splendid colors! Such a beautiful day!

5. MIKE DESIMONE - September 30, 2014

Jenny,
Thanks for sharing these images. In all of my years of stumbling around the WMNF I’ve somehow managed to never go there! It’s lovely.

Jenny - September 30, 2014

I had never been there either. I was looking for something short and easy somewhere off 302, not far from where we were staying. I discovered a gem.

6. Steve George - October 1, 2014

“River, plane, made vectors in a wedge of time in opposite directions”
-JB-

…for now Jenny.

Jenny - October 1, 2014

It touches me that you recall that line from my poem “Plane Over Tuckasegee River.” Thank you very much, Steve.

7. Steve George - October 2, 2014

Don’t know if I butchered the context/meaning of that verse. I just thought about two divergent trajectories…for now that is.

Our best to you.
Steve

8. Rick Stevenson - October 2, 2014

Hi Jenny!

Just happened to spot this one in my Inbox….very sorry to read this about Bob. I think you two were together at least 10 years, yes?

So I see you were back in the Whites.

I’ve been out of hiking for two months; messed up a knee in July and had arthr. surgery for tears in the meniscus a month ago. Missing some prime months of hiking up here, hope to be back on trails in November sometime.

So how have you been? Give me an update when you can, and then it’ll be my turn,

Rick

Jenny - October 2, 2014

Good to hear from you, Rick! Bob and I were together 15 years. We split up in 2009 but remained good friends. He combined many qualities: above all a powerful sense of humor, but also warmth, honesty, love of nature, and a unique fascination with geography. He was the king of mountain trivia, for one thing. Ask him about the state high point of Wisconsin or the smaller peaks of the Cascades or the Wind Rivers, and he would know.

Sorry to hear about your knee problem. I strained a knee myself on a trip I did in late summer to Lapland (I posted photos on this blog—see “Sarek National Park” series) and was laid up for about a month afterwards. The signs of “aging hiker syndrome” keep piling up—persistent sore toe, hip flexor problem, knee that pops out of joint, etc., etc., but I’m still at it! It was good to revisit the Whites.

9. Stephanie Seay - October 3, 2014

Such a beautiful area and a wonderful way to honor Bob. I need to go back and read your Lapland posts. I know how excited you were for that trip back in July. Much love to you! .

— Stephanie

Jenny - October 3, 2014

Love you too, Stephanie! You are a great friend.


Leave a Reply

