jump to navigation

Communing with ice November 19, 2014

Posted by Jenny in bushwhacking, hiking, photography, Smoky Mountains, Southern Appalachians, weather.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
Up close and personal with ice.

Up close and personal with ice.

It’s been a bit cold lately. Approximately 20 degrees colder than normal temperatures for the date.

There’s a blog put out by the folks at the lodge on top of Mt. LeConte. Yesterday they had a 24-hour high of 9 degrees and, I think, a low of -1. (Actually not that wide a range—they must have been in fog or clouds.) People were talking about how cold it was. Someone chirped up with a comment along the lines of, “It’s a high mountain! It’s supposed to be chilly up there!”

This person didn’t understand the concept of the weather history of a particular spot. Yes, summits are colder than valleys (usually—except when there’s an inversion). The point is that on the date of November 18 each year, there’s an average temp. This year, it is way below average for that summit.

I took a short walk this afternoon to my favorite local destination, an unnamed waterfall on the East Fork of Fisher Creek in the Plott Balsams. You have to bushwhack a short distance to get to a good viewing point at the bottom.

I communed with ice.

Blobs of ice.

Blobs of ice.

I  liked the blobs so much, I did a closeup.

I liked the blobs so much, I did a closeup.

The flow of water is frozen in time. Wait a minute---I mean, it's actually frozen.

The flow of water is frozen in time. Wait a minute—I mean, it’s actually frozen.

Ice formed on the rhodo over the stream.

Ice formed on the rhodo over the stream.

The whole upper section of the waterfall. It has two main sections.

The upper section of the waterfall. It has two main sections. You can’t take a picture of the whole thing.

I have been to this waterfall many, many times in all seasons, but I like it best in the hard uncomfortable season of ice.

#  #  #

 

Comments»

1. norman medford - November 20, 2014

way to go commuter.

2. norman medford - November 20, 2014

i mean communer – i think?

Jenny - November 20, 2014

I commute every day from my bedroom to my living room. I commune every day with the sparkling light of the Tuckasegee River. Thanks, Norman!

3. Jarrett - November 21, 2014

Wow, that frozen waterfall looks amazing. Looks like a great trip if you weren’t too cold.

4. MIKE DESIMONE - November 21, 2014

I was a late-comer to micro-spikes. First time I ever wore them was a trek up Mt. Algonquin in the Adirondacks Columbus Day weekend 2012, after an inch of snow covered up all the icy patches. Gave me confidence I wouldn’t have otherwise had.

Jenny - November 21, 2014

Mike, I am always glad to hear from you but at the same time it always makes me sad because you were a close friend of Bob. I still have a terrible sense of loss about him, but at the same time I will always remember his ideas. One of those ideas was about weather. So when I look at a forecast about high pressure or low pressure I think about him, and in that way he endures far beyond his death.

MIKE DESIMONE - November 28, 2014

He was in a dream I had recently, the younger and very fit Bob from the early 90s. Every time I see a UPS truck, I think of Bob. He hated this time of the year at work. Take care out there Jenny.


Leave a Reply

